Solano County recently has release a lot of applications. Due to that the Solano County CCW courses have been filling up quickly.
I want to make this very clear.
When you sign up for the course, you may have an option at the bottom of the page to select which date you want. If there isn't a pull down, there is only one option available. When you click the Green Register Now Button. The next page shows the course date at the top that you are signing up for.
If I have a course scheduled but it isn't in the drop down option list, that means the class is full.
You can use this link to get a better idea of what is available.
List All Events - This will open in a new windows.
All February CA CCW Course are full. The next available is March 22nd. I'm sure this will be full shortly.
The Assault Weapons Ban SB880 & AB1135 (These are not part of Prop 63 but were signed in to law - This is a downloadable PDF)
Proposition 63 was a deceptive ballot initiative that destroys the civil liberties of law abiding Californians. California’s Proposition 63, will fundamentally change how law-abiding citizens can purchase ammunition in the state. In my opinion, this measure will only serve to make California residents less safe and more likely punished with fines and the real threat of jail time.
Consider these important factors:
Proposition 63, effective Jan. 1, 2018, will require all ammunition sales (with few exceptions) to be conducted through an “ammunition vendor.” This means you cannot sell any ammunition to your neighbor or sibling unless a licensed ammunition vendor performs the transfer. And if you want to sell more than 500 rounds in a 30-day period, you must become a licensed ammunition vendor. These transactions must also be done face-to-face—no mail order. Vendor will need a license from the state, which will require them to conduct background checks on their employees and report lost or stolen ammunition to authorities within 48 hours of discovering that it is missing.
Proposition 63 requires a background check to purchase ammunition. You must pay a fee of up to $50 and wait up to 30 days every four years for your application to purchase ammunition to be processed. Then, each time you purchase ammunition, the vendor must verify that you are who you say you are, and that you have the proper authorization in the state’s system.
Proposition 63 requires you to provide the vendor personal information each time you purchase ammunition, and it will be recorded/registered by the California Department of Justice indefinitely.
Proposition 63 does not allow residents of California to bring ammunition obtained from out of state back into California. So, if you drive to a competition in Arizona and order several cases of ammo but don’t shoot it all, you cannot bring the remainder back into the state. Interestingly, it does not apply to nonresidents of California. So, nonresidents have no restrictions on bringing ammunition into California, and they can sell to California residents if they go through a licensed vendor. Who’s to oversee how much they bring into the state and how it is used? This tells you how fundamentally twisted this proposition really is. It will cause the police and the state to divert resources to monitor law-abiding citizens that are not causing any problems, but will do nothing to stop criminals.
That does not include transfers of ammunition, where no money is exchanged, though those must still take place face-to-face. Buyers will be required to pass a background check at the point of sale. Vendors will send customers’ personal information to the state Department of Justice, which will run it through databases of firearms transactions and prohibited gun owners to ensure the buyer is eligible before approving the purchase.
Buyers will be charged a transaction fee of up to $1 for each background check to fund enforcement. Purchasing ammunition for others who are not eligible to buy it will be considered a misdemeanor.
Prop 63 also includes: California banned large-capacity magazines for most individuals in 2000. Individuals who had large-capacity magazines before 2000 were allowed to keep the magazines. Proposition 63 removed the ownership exemption for pre-2000 owners of large-capacity magazines. The measure provided for charging Individuals who do not comply with it with an infraction.
Commencing July 1, 2017, any person not exempt from possessing large-capacity magazines, regardless of the date the magazine was acquired, is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) per large-capacity magazine, or is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100) per large-capacity magazine, by imprisonment in a county jail not to exceed one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
Any person who may not lawfully possess a large-capacity magazine commencing July 1,
2017 shall, prior to July 1, 2017:
(I) Remove the large-capacity magazine from the state;
(2) Sell the large-capacity magazine to a licensed firearms dealer; or
(3) Surrender the large-capacity magazine to a law enforcement agency for destruction.
Theft of a firearm becomes a felony.
All links will open in a new window.
If you are a firearm owner, one or more of California’s 6 new firearm laws will likely affect you. The following is just my understanding of the six bills signed into law. Be advise that I am not a lawyer, and I'm not giving legal advice, so do your own research. Links to the bills have been provided.
Keep in mind that semi-auto rifles that don’t currently take a bullet button, are featureless (without 1 or more) of the State’s definition of offending “features” (conspicuously protruding pistol grip, flash suppressor, collapsible butt stock, etc.) are still legal, including the M1 Carbine, M1A, Ruger Mini 14 and other like rifles. These type rifles won’t be considered “assault weapons” and will continue to be commercially available. Stripped lower AR or AK receivers don’t require registration, but if they aren’t registered, they can’t legally be assembled into a rifle, either.
5. Assembly Bill 1511 This bill is to modify PC 27880 (Owner not present) As of January 1, 2017 a new restriction on the lending of firearms. It would prohibit that practice except between family members including adopted or step relation (spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, child, sibling, grandparent). The “borrower” is required to have a State Firearms Safety Certificate and the loan can’t exceed a 30 day period. I far as I can tell, this doesn't modify PC 27885 (Owner present)
6. Assembly Bill 1695 Making a false stolen firearm report. Will become law as of January 1, 2017. This law will make it a misdemeanor to falsely report a firearm stolen and bans anyone guilty of false reporting from purchasing a firearm for 10 years.
There is a special deal for Solano County Permit Holders!
Due to the high rate of attrition of permit holders renewing. I have decided to put a real push on getting permit holders to renew.
I'm just guessing, but I think it is because of the unknown cost to renew the permit.
So here is the deal.
You can purchase the Solano County Permit holders renewal package that includes the county and state fees for a total cost of $170.00.
Remember this includes, State & County fees, range fees, targets, training fee and qualification.
The only other cost you will incur is ammunition. If you are a decent shot, the course of fire is 35 rounds.
You can purchase this deal any time for long as your Solano County Permit is valid (current). Roughly three months prior to your permit expiring, you will take our Solano County renewal training & qualification course. (I will work with you to get you a course date that will fit in with your schedule. Course cannot be giving more than 90 days before the expiration date on your current permit)
We will supply you with your targets and the Firearm Inspection and Shooting Proficiency Certification form to turn in to the Solano County Sheriff's Office.
When you are contacted to pickup your permit, remember to take along your current permit and the checks we supplied you doing the course.
I don't think this process could get any easier in California.
When you take our Solano County CCW Renewal Course, we will supply you with money orders or cashier checks for all of the State & County fees, during the course.
We now have the rest on the year scheduled. Start time is 6:00PM (Doors will open 30 minutes prior)
From 5:35pm to 6:00pm there will be training videos playing, so be early, they are worth watching.
Solano County CCW Seminar
This seminar will focus on obtaining a California carry permit in Solano County.
We will cover :
- California CCW Application process with emphasis on Solano County.
- State and County Fees.
- What is involved in the background check.
- Good Cause Statement.
- Follow up support and more!
If you have been wanting to get your permit and not sure where to start or you just need a push. This seminar was made for you.
Seating will be limited!
As of June 18th, 2015, with the passage of SB 175 and SB 488. Nevada will recognize the following States' CCW permits ;
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
The exciting news is, Nevada will recognize a non-resident Arizona permit once again.
Remember firearm laws change frequently so before traveling with a firearm, you should verify the laws with the appropriate authorities.